Skip to content

The Navy

January 22, 2011

Laugh all you want but it has a lot of benefits.

Yes, I have not been known to do well with authority. Yes, I have a major opposition to much of what the military does and stands for. Yes, I might be a bit old to be considering this. Yes, I could be sent to war.

But if I did 4 years, I would have enough aid to do multiple degrees for free if I wanted. I could try and get a job in the navy that fits into one of the major interests I have, like journalism. I could get in better shape and come out with a self discipline that is attractive to many employers.

Perhaps looking over the website and talking to that recruiter has made me delusional, but I don’t see too much wrong with this.

The main problem I have with many of the future possibilities I have laid out are that jumping into a vocation that involves school will stick me in a shitty economy with a skill that might not be marketable. With military aid, I could have the flexibility to try my hand and a variety of occupations without the hassle and negativity I bring upon myself to start. I wouldn’t have to worry about the costs of something and just do it.

It would be 4 years of my life, and perhaps I would be risking it by joining the navy, but the life risk is not really worrying me, especially when you look at it from a risk assessment standpoint. I am not likely to be killed or maimed if I join the navy, not when you consider the risks of daily life, end of story.

I guess ideology is a big factor, like being surrounded by people with very different realities then mine own. But I would only be 32 or so when I was done and could be debt free and with a degree by 35 or 36.

Perhaps this thought process is a symptom of my desperate mental state. I don’t really know. But I have a respect for life experience, and this would certainly be one.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Elayne Sawaya permalink
    January 22, 2011 4:42 pm

    Your Father was in the military.

Leave a Reply

