Skip to content

Law

January 22, 2011

I could be a lawyer.

I could go to law school, accrue a major amount of debt, and hope I come out with an opportunity to make enough money to pay that debt off.

Law school intrigues me because I see it as much more than practicing law. I think understanding law and being qualified to perform within its confines gives a person a lot of flexibility in the right situation.

This is not to say that I am not interested in practicing law. Many kinds of law intrigue me; I would even consider focusing my career on eminent domain in poor urban communities, or copyright law in relation to public domain and the internet. I am interested in drug reform and prison reform.

I could help people by practicing law.

But as I write this, I think more about having the knowledge of a lawyer, rather than actively practicing it. My mind goes back to writing and journalism, and how if I had a background in law it would lend credibility to my opinions on its jurisdictions.

Perhaps the idea I had in the last post about studying something while focusing on writing as well would be the way to go. Law wouldn’t be a bad focus, the only problem is the money I don’t have to pay for it, and the increasing amount of law school graduates that come out in major debt and no way to pay it off in a bad economy. Sure, some lawyers go to decent firms, or even small ones and make enough to pay off their debts, but to tell the truth, huge debt scares me. I don’t even want small debt, it wrecks my brain. I get too focused on it and drive myself nuts. I don’t even want to think what $200,000 would do to me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 2:35 pm

    You don’t want to be a lawyer. No one does.

Leave a Reply

