Skip to content

Government and Public Policy

January 22, 2011

I have always had an interest in politics. I have strong opinions and beliefs. I can express myself relatively well around others. I want to have a vested interest in the lives of my community. I want to be able to have a job where I help others.

There are two parts to this.

One is focusing on the US. I could do that, but I honestly think that my country is dying, from self inflicted wounds as well as globalization. I don’t think governments can do nearly as much as they might have been able to do before.
The idea of going into some form of local government to begin a lifetime of public service hoping to improve the scope of my influence sounds dreary.

The other side is more global. There are non profits that do a ton of work to try and change the disastrous situations of many around the world. Not aid, but combining education, sociology, health, law and economics to make a difference.

I need to spend more time thinking about what facets of the world have the most influence on a wide variety of institutions.

Public Planning is something else I have thought about. I enjoy reading many of the urban philosophers of the last 50 years because their ideas are radical, but not so much that certain aspects can’t be taken seriously in a time of inefficiency.

If I did a degree in any of these, I would need to hone my interests into a specific focus so that I can put everything I have into succeeding. If I spread myself too thin, I will fizzle out and accomplish little.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

