Skip to content

India blog 9

March 21, 2010

So Mary is gone.  3 weeks in India behind me and a month on my own about to start.  I am in Kovalam, which is 14km outside of Trivandrum, the town that Mary is doing her yoga teaching course.  It is a touristy beach with amazing waves and a nice breeze, though it is starting to get humid here.  The waves are double the size of the ones in Goa and the current is strong, so much so that this is known as one of the most dangerous beaches on the west coast of India.  No matter though, as the waves crash huge close to shore and body surfing is great here.

So, the question to ask myself is how I want to spend this month on my own.  I think I have a solution.  I am going to rent a Royal Enfield.  These motorcycles were brought here by the British many decades ago, but now they are manufactured here.  They are relatively inexpensive, easy to fix and an Indian staple for the adventurous.  There are even tourist shirts sold most places with the bike on the front.  I have decided to explore Kerala, as well as a few other states by bike.

The plan is to ride up the west coast near to Goa, then cut inland until I hit the Western Ghats.  These are the hills that make up the range along the south west of India.  Once I hit the ghats, I want to ride them south until I come back here 2-3 weeks later.  I have decided to do the coast first so I can get used to riding the bike on relatively flat ground before having to do a lot of shifting in the hills.

One thing though, I have no idea how to ride a motorcycle.  I have driven a scooter for a few days and did fine, but that was 100cc and relatively light weight while this is a heavyish bike with 500cc.

At this point, I would like all those related to me to calm down.

As my plan goes forward in the next few days, you are powerless to stop me.

My plan is to befriend a local who can help me learn how to ride, acquire a bike without getting ripped off, and keep my big backpack while I take the tiny one with me for the trip.

I have befriended the local, his name is Nazar and I have been staying in his hotels for the last 4 days.  He has a bike for me and has a friend that is going to teach me to ride.

Tomorrow I will start learning around here.  The next day, I will ride 10-30km to get used to an extended ride.  And if I feel comfortable, i will set out on the 3rd day, if not I will ride around here until I do.

The plan is to escape this heat with the medicine of the wind rushing by me at speeds so fast that nothing around is visible anymore, where landscapes dissipate into puddles of light flashing by.  Where caution is thrown to the wind and the corpse of a Kneivel takes over my body.  Where there is no up or down, stop or go, only faster and faster.  Where luck is all there is when you fly on a mechanical monster.  Where the glory exists, not in how many towns lay in a fiery heap behind you as you make your dystopian exit down scorching asphalt, but in the trail of bright red blood oozing from the mace that you drag along the ground sending sparks up in a way that makes the women feel tingly deep inside.

I am a little nervous, but the more practice I get, the better I will feel.  Wish me luck.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 2:05 am

    You’re a dumb shit. Please don’t die.

Leave a Reply

