Skip to content

India blog 8

March 19, 2010

Havent written in a while because I have been on the move a bit so I thought now would be a good time to write about being on the move in India.

We spent almost a week in Pallalim. Goa because of the water, the beach huts, and the friends we had made (a couple from Ireland), but soon we had to catch a train.  A small propblem was that we booked the train weeks before and didn’t exprect to have traveled so far south.  We had a to take a few buses North and retrace our steps to Karmalu station in central Goa.  While waiting for the train we happened to be very close to this World Heritage site along a major river.  The site was filled with a few old churches and a basillica, along with some deep excavation sites.  The best part of the area was the sunset along the river (picture coming soon) with the huge barges going by to Panaji (the capital).

Then we got some dinner; the highlight was me getting a tiny sandalwood chess set for 200 rupies when Mary bet me 50 I couldn’t get it for less than 500, especially after the guy started at over 1000.

Then we got on the train.  OK, a little about having to move in India:

Indian food makes you have to shit.  There were times when I would eat India and Mexican in the same meal.  You cannot go anywhere without taking this into account.  You must always have toilet paper on you.  You cannot and will not find a toilet in anything bigger than a small town without asking 15 people or bribing someone. When you do get to the toilet, you will hope for a hole in the ground.

A little explanation:  Sitting down to shit is a luxury.  In China I had to use the holes a few times and I was always hoping to find a toilet.  Here it is different.  Unless I am in a very nice place, there is a good chance the puiblic toilet will be covered in whatever sick shit you could possibly imagine.  To avoid this I like to shit in banks and major hotels, but here there a few of both options, so I look for a hole.  The hole is exactly what you think it is in the shape of a rectanlge and hopefully there is a place for your feet so that you can crouch at an angle that is easier on your knees and back.  If you ae injured or not very coordinated you will have to touch some nasty things to keep you balance, personally, I don’t know how some people do it here because you can tell in 2 seconds who would have trouble using the hole.

The reason I prefer the hole is that as long as shit is not everywhere or knee deep or whatever, you don’t have to put your ass on anything.  Oh, and you don’t have to worry about clogging up a toilet, because it’s  not, it is a hole.  I have clogged more toilets in this country than I can remember, and that’s without the toilet paper, which the pipes can’t stand and must be disposed of in the basket next to the toilet (unless its a hole).  Oh, they also have something bedet like here but its not a seperate contraption, or a button like the super toilets in Korea.  It is a hose thing next to most toilets here.  I don’t want to try it, though Mary did and she said it didn’t do the job.  mary also wants me to mention that sometimes instead of a hose there is a bucket and water.  Sometimes there are instructions, it says to use the water from the bucket with the jug and throw it forcefully onto the dirty area.

Mary left me a beautiful message today, it said that, “Your could keep me afloat in a rough sea.”  I thought it was the most lovely thing I had heard in a while.

Ok, so on the buses, they will stop ever so often, but the toilets there are the worst you could possibly imagine.  Basically don’t have to shit when you are on a bus.  They only give you a few mintutes and that is how long iot will take you to muster up the courage to go into the toilet in the first place, then on top of that, there is a good chance the bus will lave you there because they never do headcounts or even call to say they are leaving.  I had to yell at a driver once to let Mary finish peeing, I had to physically stand in front of the bus.

On trains it is different.  There is a hole and I could imagine it getting nasty in there but we have been taking night trains and I am under the impression that these must have the cleanest toilets because there is no meal served or bought and most people are sleeping.  The trains all have holes and if you are wondering where the hole leads to, rest assured that it is the same place people put their garbage, right out the window and under the train.

I want to write more on this but must go blast a duke.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lovebug25 permalink
    March 19, 2010 4:53 pm

    hmm.. interesting.

    I visited India 2 summers ago and I loved it there..

    • March 21, 2010 5:40 am

      Its amazing here. I am loving every minute of it. Though I have been getting a little stagnant. Gotta keep moving, too much to see

  2. gayle permalink
    March 19, 2010 4:56 pm

    hilarious! i’d be in real trouble because i’d never ever go to the bathroom and then i’d die.

  3. March 20, 2010 7:13 am

    lovely. how about a few words about the good stuff??? and some photos puh-lease!

Leave a Reply

