Skip to content

India blog 7

March 13, 2010

So we have been in Goa for a few days.  Compared to the other states it is very small, but I didn’t really realize it until I went from North Goa to the South.  The day after star trek themed Vegan food was the least interesting part of Lunch, we decided to take public busses to Palallim, a coastal town on the southernish tip of Goa.  We had only taken a private bus at this point and I was curious to see how the public ones were.  We had heard many stories some good, but mostly bad, about them but the price was too enticing.  for 20 cents, I can take an hour long bus ride from town to town.  There was not one bus to take so we took 4, without having to wait at any of the stops for a layover.  Each bus took about an hour.  It was easy and painless.  I had a few scant conversations with some locals, but nobody was really speaking all that much.  One guy wanted to know everything about my ipod, but soon grew less interested when it wasn’t filled with Goan trance and Little Jon.

So 4 hours later, we arrived in Palallim.  The town is a relatively small arch of a beach kept in on both sides  by bush lined dark cliffs.  The water is warm to perfection and the sun reflects off the water as the 4 foot waves send bodies boarding perfectly.  We stayed in a raised beach hit complete with bathroom for about 4 dollars a night each.  These last 4 days: I wake up and eat breakfast right outside my hut because the place has a restaurant.  I sit at a table underneath a small awning 20 yards from the beach, then I swim for about 45 minutes, read a book in and out of the sun for a few hours, enjoy a little bit of hash, go back in the water until the sun sets, read and get ready to walk around the palm tree lined street (singular) and eat Goan food (Vindaloo) and Goan alcohol (from Coconuts) while eating mexican food sides and relaxing.  I think I have done this every day.  This is where I will live out my days, it was nice knowing you, or it will feel that way until I go to the next cove down the Southwest coast of India.

We are leaving tomorrow to sleep one night in the Goan capital, Panjim and then catch a train to the southern state of Kerala.  Only one week left until I drop off Mary to do her month of Yoga and I have a month on my own.  I still have no idea what I am going to do.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 7:55 am

    Those public buses are terrible! And in this heat? No way!
    Good luck with the rest of your journeys.
    I’ll be in Fort Cochin for a week starting Friday. Who knows? We might cross paths!

  2. March 14, 2010 10:54 pm

    Lil’ John Alex, come on.

  3. mommy permalink
    March 15, 2010 5:42 pm

    i don’t get that?

Leave a Reply

