Skip to content

India blog 4

March 4, 2010

So we woke up on the morning of the fourth having a horrible night’s sleep.  When we got back to the room last night, Mary saw a mouse.  I found the hole that it crept back out through but that was it for her.  She spent the whole night waking up at any semblance of a sound, which when you are in a shitty room in the center of mumbai along a busy causeway that means evey 10 seconds or so.  I would have slept ok had she not turned the light on almost every time she woke up. 

Anyway, the next day we move hotels because of the rodent problem.  It is in an area called fort which is less touristy for sleeping and more toursity for sights.  This area of Mumbai is like amazing London covered in 100 years of dirt and grime for 1/100th of the price.  We walked along amazing old structures now mostly being used by banks and up to the CST, which is the train station.  The station is under much construction but it is still an extremely impressive sight with gothic yet rundown making it even more dark and ominous looking.  It belongs in ghostbusters.  We got all of our train and bus problems mostly solved and booked it to a shopping area to find us some loose light clothes that will make us blend in a little more.

I bought 2 Indian style shirts that I am pretty happy with but I wanted pants to go along with it.  Problem is that the fitting pants are expensive while these tent like pajamish (hehe) pants are rediculous and make me feel like I am wearing a diaper  yet perfectly acceptable to wear in public for 1/5th of the price.  I decided against it so I don’t look too stupid in pictures. 

Now we are meeting some Belgian dude that we met earlier in a restaurant for some dinner.  He happens to be doing the same program as Mary in the south so they will have something to talk about and if he is a beer drinker, I will have something to talk about.  Oh, and I think he is gay while Mary thinks he is straight because of some comment he made about his future grandkids. I suggested we both hit on him at different times during dinner and see for ourselves.  More on this later

Oh and I am off to Goa tomorrow so I have no idea when next blog will be, but I can make a promise that I will never meet the hippy standards of the majority of young people in this country.  It is college all over again in some places here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 3:52 pm

    Never follow a hippie to a second location.

  2. Lorie permalink
    March 4, 2010 6:36 pm

    He can be gay and plan on grandchildren.

  3. gayle permalink
    March 4, 2010 6:46 pm

    true….
    and back to the blog…after ‘mouse’ i got woozy. i would have been up the entire night too and very very upset! ugh

    i’m dying to see you in those diaper pants though. Daddy and I are taking Sara and Cory out for indian food sat. night. i can’t get the aroma out of my head…xoxoxo

  4. March 7, 2010 4:14 am

    Oli just told me about your blog – I am so delighted. I can so picture it all, and i clap my hands gleefully and recoil in remorse at what’s in store. Keep up the good pioneering work, guys.

Leave a Reply

