Skip to content

Recently Watched Movies

November 30, 2009

This is all in about the last month or so.  I must say that I would not be watching some of these films were it not for the Lady who had seen all of 8 movies before the age of 15 and wants to catch up.  I love this as I get to go back and rewatch films when I can’t be arsed to do it on my own with so many things I have yet to see waiting at the click of a button.  Also, I get new films way late here in Korea so give me a bit of a break on that.

Once again, these are short reviews, blurbs if you will to let you know if I like something or not.  A few of my friends seem to respect my opinion on movies but I watch too many to give each a proper review without getting paid to do it, so here ya go. No pictures in this one because the post would be 2 miles long.

Collision: Christopher Hitchens VS Douglass Wilson (2009)

I liked this movie though would not have watched it without Christopher Hitchens being involved.  I have read a few of his books and enjoy his humorous rants on religion.  I know he is serious about being anti religion but he is nonetheless funny as hell with his delivery.  I don’t think I am an atheist, I guess I would have to be an anti-theist.  I am not going into my beliefs in this review, though I might in a future post.  The main thing to keep in mind if you have an interest in the subject of this movie is that this is a debate.  It is not straight forward on stage politcal style debate, though some of it is.  It is many debates and discussions edited together.  Sometimes its tough for people to take this subject from 2 well to do white guys  without much want in their personal lives, but I enjoy the discussion of this subject, love that atheism is part of the public discourse more than ever, and hate creationism with a passion, and if 2 knowledgable people want to debate about it in an entertaining thought provoking way then I am down.

Anything Else (2003)

OK, I love Woody Allen.  I don’t love Jason Biggs.  I like Christina Ricci.  But I don’t think she is a diversely talented actress.  The story is ok, Allen doesn’t quite play himself in order to allow Jason Biggs a crack at it, but Allen can get too far from his persona so it is like Woody talks to Woody about life, relationships, philosophy etc.  If you like Woody Allen and have not seen some of his better films please see about 6-10 films of his before this one.

Away We Go (2009)

Great idea to continue the road movie genre.  An expecting couple travel North America to look for a place to raise their child.  They seem to like or dislike places based entirely on the friends they have there and whether or not they are happy.  The dialogue is decent, the cast is quite good (Jeff Daniels, Catherine O’Hara, Maggie Gyllenhaal, John Krasinski, Maya Rudolph, etc), Sam Mendes directs, but it is basically a chick flick stretching to find an audience.  I was entertained laughed out loud a few times, but finished the movie wanting a deeper more interesting story.

Boogie Nights (1997)

Watched this recently for the 5th or 10th time, don’t really remember.  This is one of the most repeatedly viewable movies I can think of.  I couldn’t watch it day after day, but I could easily watch it every 9-12 months if someone else brought it up.

Coraline (2009)

Read the graphic novel, love Neil Gaiman and everything he does.  Little girl moves to a new house with her family finds a door in the home that leads to an alternate reality.  She is enticed by her other parents but soon finds that life threatening.  It is animated and had a lot of marketing towards children, but it is definitely not for anybody under 12 at least.  It is dark, funny and sweet.

Drag Me to Hell (2009)

Love Sam Raimi.  This movie was great.  Pretty straight forward horror, but with Raimi’s usual flair for unexpected humor.  Its amazing for anybody who loves Evil Dead-Army of Darkness and anybody who likes the horror genre at all.  If you get too scared, this movie isn’t that bad as it doesn’t take itself too serious.

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)

Watched this movie for the millionth time, but haven’t seen it in about a decade.  This is definitely a once every 5-10 years movie.  If only to remind you how cool Matthew Broderick was before being house broken by Horseface and gaining enough weight to finally end any semblance of cute ambivalence.

House of the Devil (2009)

Wanna be early 80’s Halloween type horror film but not enough happens in the slow build that the director is trying to turn into suspense.  Many people who are horror snobs and take themselves to seriously will love this film.  I thought it was just ok.

Festival Express (2003)

Good documentary about Janis Joplin, The Band, Buddy Guy etc.,  on a cross Canada train in the late 60’s where they get loaded every night, and play a lot of shows.  It’s mostly concert footage, which is great and the reason I wanted to see it.  The back story told through the producers of the show involving riled up crowds and free loader audiences was interesting.  As far as music documentaries go, if you like them, you will very much enjoy this as long as the music is pleasing to your ears.

Paranormal Activity (2008)

Found Footage genre (Blair Witch) about a couple in a house who are tormented by a demon.  Many didn’t like the film but I thought it was great, especially with what the director had to work with.  Watch it with someone who isn’t so good in horror films to make the experience more authentic.  Some people are so out of whack with the horror genre that they just laugh when the scene is intended to scare (thanks Saw), I think those people suck and ruin movie going experiences.  Fuck them.

High Noon (1952)

Great movie.  Gary Cooper tries to take care of business despite nobody believing in him.  The church, the saloon, his wife, and Lloyd Bridges get in his way.  Well directed, very well acted.  Westerns can be so good and so bad.  This is worth watching.

The Kite Runner (2007)

Book was amazing.  Read it years ago.  It was nice to see the movie if only to remind me of the story.  It is still a tear jerker, but it must be and is a let down after reading the book.  If you haven’t read the book and want to see the movie ask yourself why you like to make huge mistakes and enjoy sucking at life on the side.

The Man Who Knew Too Much (1956)

Good Hitchcock film starring Jimmy Stewart, who is one of my all time favorites and will see anything with him upon request.  Man and Wife go with child to Morocco, when the child disappears.  Stewart and his wife (Doris Day) put recent happenings together and find themselves on the way to Europe to find their missing son and catch the kidnappers.  The movie has become a bit more tame then some of Hitchcock’s similar suspense.  I think this is because of the setting, but it is still worth the watch if you are a Hitchcock fan.

The Witches of Eastwick (1987)

Haven’t seen this movie since I was 12 or so.  Watched it because I thought the lady would like it.  She did and I was reminded how funny and entertaining this movie is.  I also had a flashback to the career of a few people who could be considered dead to Hollywood now, mainly Michelle Pfeiffer and Cher.  Nicholson is a few films away from done, and Sarandon would be getting a lot more work if she were a man, but its tough for her because there aren’t many roles.  If you haven’t seen this movie and you like campy yet big name big budget movies that hit all marks this is your movie.

Fuck: The Documentary  (2005)

Got boring fast.  Tells the history of the word.  I think you get it.

Whatever Works (2009)

Decent Woody Allen film. I was surprised it went in and out of theaters so quickly.  I love love love Larry David and he does Woody Allen, but not all out and has a decent amount of himself in the role.  Basically, he plays an almost Nobel Science Laureate who is in his later years, but happens to meet a runaway who is young hot and in love with his cynical views on life for the sole reason that she lacks any of her own.  I thought the movie was funny and probably laughed out loud 5 or 6 times.  What it isn’t is a must see and a comedy breakthrough that will change your life. This movie can be missed if you don’t care too much about either Allen or David.

Twilight (2008)

Saw this because of the Lady.  Think less of my sister for liking this sooooo much.  Don’t think its the end of cinema as we know it or even the permanent degradation of teenage life.  But I do think it is interesting to see what the few gifts  given to teenage girls each decade will be  ( Titanic, New Kids on the Block).  All the rest of big budget teen movies are for boys so here is a gift to the 12 year old girl.  I also can’t stress how much this is for 12 -14 year old girls.  It makes itself so over the top apparent it made me want to retch.

Zombieland (2009)

Fuckin sweet movie.  Woody Harrelson can be and should be in just about everything because he is the movie equivalent of a cold beer in the shower.  No need to go into plot detail here.  Its worth watching if you like these kinds of things. Period.

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia (2005-present)

Loving this show.  Really funny.  Even for my overseas friends who tend to not get much American pop culture reference.  You don’t need much background to like it.  Just finished Season 2.

Bored to Death (2009-present)

Thought it would be better.  I like it, but never really catch myself laughing.  It is smart but not funny if you know what i mean.  I like everybody on the show.  All of the actors are amazing and make me smile constantly, but not really laugh out loud.  Can’t really pin point why.  Jason Schwartzman, Zach Galifanakis, and Ted Danson should be enough.  Danson is the best part of the show by the way.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 12:32 am

    I’ve always maintained that Twilight is awful. That being said, it is entertaining. The movie is terribly and not that entertaining. The books though man, the books though.

    Oh and Sunny is my favorite thing in the world right now. Get the christmas special. Funny.

    • December 1, 2009 5:29 pm

      agreed, such a good show. Twilight had me cracking up the whole time. Did you know the guy who did Hard Candy which has Ellen Page castrating a guy, is directing the 3rd twilight film, perhaps it will get more interesting

  2. the mother permalink
    December 2, 2009 6:19 pm

    did i ever tell you how much i love you two!!

Leave a Reply

